I went shopping for clothes today! (+ tips for shopping with TSW)

You would ask what’s the big deal?

The big deal, as those who live with me know, is that I LOVE clothes. But during the worst of Topical Steroid Withdrawal, I lived in a sack.

No. seriously. I lived in a sack. It was depressing. and ugly. For the sake of my poor newlywed husband, I wish I was kidding, but I donned the ever so fashionable sack, with no undies. Because my skin down there liked breeze. (TMI? sorry not sorry?) I was in too much pain to care about what I looked like, and even if I did care, the clothes that I could wear was really limited. Too tight, was bad. Too short was bad. Too much fabric was bad. Light colors were out. Thick fabrics, also out. etc etc so I lived in a sack.

I would post actual picture of me in my sacks (I have acquired about 5) but ain’t nobody who needs to relieve that.

But today, I went shopping! I’ve been needing some basics (I lost I a lot of weight) and Nordstrom Rack has additional 25% off clearance items so off I went! I would say this is a huge mile stone for those battling through Topical Steroid Withdrawal. The reason is two fold: 1. You have the energy to go out and stand amongst strangers for hours and hours (yes I like shopping that much) 2. You want to and get to wear lots of different, pretty clothes again! And you can try on clothes without worrying about getting blood and ooze everywhere!

20140417-235851.jpg

outfit 1!

20140417-235907.jpg

outfit 2!

I think healing from TSW is two fold – physically and consequently mentally/emotionally. Going through TSW does a number on your mental and emotional well being. Hard to feel good about yourself and care about other people when the only thing you can think about is how much pain you are in RIGHT. THIS. MOMENT. I feel that being able to go shopping and feel pretty and happy about how you look is a HUGE step towards complete healing from TSW.

That said, if you need to go to shopping in the midst of Topical Steroid Withdrawal, here are some tips.

  1. Don’t go unless you feel up to it/ you absolutely have to because shopping is hard work when you are sick.
  2. Shop online! This way you get to try on the clothes in the comforts of your home, which will get rid of your social anxiety that accompanies TSW. Amazon Prime (free trial available!) and Nordstrom is the best – Free shipping and return!
  3. If you have to make the trip out/are willing to make the trip out cover your skin. Wear something cotton and thin – like a tank top or a low cut long sleeve shirt – so you don’t have come in direct contact with the new clothes. Wear something thin and tight on the bottom as well.
  4. Narrow down as much as possible before trying clothes out. You want to minimize try-ons, if you are in the middle of a flare. More movement = More pain
  5. After purchase, WASH the clothes before you wear it out! This should prevent lots of irritation from excess dyes, etc.

I hope the tips help! Happy healing and as always, let me know if you got any questions!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “I went shopping for clothes today! (+ tips for shopping with TSW)

  1. You are so precious with all of this wonderful encouragement to those who are suffering with this. Bless you, Sweetie! Have a most blessed Easter time!

    Love you!
    Urs ♥

      • Haha those pesky typos! I actually went back today and got clothes for my sister and mom! The cashier actually recognized me and was all your back again?! Haha. You will soon be living it up too! I know I did ridiculous (because that’s how I felt when I first started) but time goes by faster than you think! Stay strong! And if you ever need to talk I’m here!

Leave a Reply

