Still on honeymoon – 8 months and 3 weeks

I’m back in the states! Canada was amazing, especially the French Canada region. It was so weird being surrounded by a language I don’t understand – I’ve never done that before. But most spoke fluent English so we got away easy.

My skin is still flaring – it never returned to how it was. But the skin moisture is back up which is a huge relief to me. Back in Boston (a week ago) it was drier than it’s been in months. The hotel was also incredibly dry which didn’t help. The city itself wasn’t too dry and it was beautiful!! Their seafood was also amazing. Loved the city so much.

Since then it got a bit better, but two days ago I just did all the wrong things for my skin and as a result I’ve been paying for it. It’s still not that bad- I mean I’m able to stay out all day and some nights walking all the time barely thinking about my skin. Actually today was the first time in a long time that I was itchy enough to stop and scratch for few seconds. I’m definitely itchier than I have been in a long time but not enough that it is hindering my trip. But I kind of deserve it. I’ve been naughty.

Two nights ago, I decided fuck it I’m going to go out and drink. This is in addition to all the absolutely crap salty (but mostly delicious) food I’ve been putting into my body (poutines anybody? Jerky? Msg galore in general?) While I hydrated through out the night, I was definitely tipsy/drunk. It was the best night ever though. Next morning I was drier. And the hotel we stayed in Toronto seemed to wash their sheets with detergents my skin especially didn’t like so it was irritated and bumpy, even before my alcohol consumption. Then we had to do laundry and only detergent available were the scented ones my skin doesn’t like. So further bumps and irritation. On top of the four reasons, I also just started my period which messes with my skin further. Oh well.

Despite that, I’m fully enjoying myself and not too concerned about my skin. It is still producing oil and skin integrity still seems to be good, which in my opinion, is the most important factors of healing. And not being itchy. And I’m not that itchy, and today’s been the worst day of this flare itch wise. Bumps are kind of spreading but the old ones cleared/are clearing up. So not exactly just spreading. It’s going away too.

Since I am still on my honeymoon, I don’t really feel like taking skin pictures aha. So I leave you with regular pictures.

20140511-183249.jpg
Boston scallops. SO GOOD UNF

20140511-183736.jpg
Niagara Falls. Breathtaking.

20140511-184712.jpg
Rock and roll hall of fame, Cleveland

20140511-185303.jpg
Super cool melody producing xylophone like swing in Montreal

20140511-185443.jpg
Beautiful cathedral in Quebec

20140511-185633.jpg
Another beautiful cathedral in Montreal

That’s it for now. Tomorrow I head to Chicago and I AM SO EXCITED!! Happy healing everybody- I hope you all find relief soon.

3 thoughts on “Still on honeymoon – 8 months and 3 weeks

  1. Hi! I came across your blog yesterday after having a down in the dumps 2 month tsw day. Your positivity really brightened my spirits and already has helped to change my attitude towards this healing process. Thank you so much for sharing! emily

    • Tsw is definitely hard. The first few months were the hardest for me, you just gotta stay strong and ride it out. If you have any questions or anything, I’m here for you! I’m glad I was able to make this hell a bit better for you

Leave a Reply

