birthday man

Today is a special day because my favorite human ages one more year!

When my “eczema” was getting worse and worse and I was lost and overwhelmed by my rapidly deteriorating health, my husband was the first one who supported me. Despite the fact we’ve only been dating for a few months, he was there 100% and supported my decision to start the withdrawal process which will put me (and us) in a world of struggle.

It was the beginning of a relationship- we were supposed to be in hormone filled euphoria. But due to TSW, there were some really hard times. I was chronically ill, and as a result, chronically sad. My self esteem plummeted, along with my desire and energy to do things in life. I used all the energy I had to attempt to seem happier to everybody else, and as a result, Rhys bore the brunt of my depression.

Despite all the hard times, our time together went by incredibly fast. I can’t believe it’s already the second birthday we are celebrating together. So many things have happened in the past year. In the beginning of TSW, I would often tell him that I wished I was put in a coma to sleep through all the pain and discomfort. 16 months in, I am so grateful I lived through every day of the past 16 months because for every low points, there were highest of highs I have had the honor to experience. We have traveled to new places, tried new food, learned so much about each other, and fell deeper in love. From surprise weddings to starting school again, my husband has blessed me with his kindness and silliness.

So, happy birthday to my best friend and the love of my life! You have brought so much joy and light into my darkest times. You are my rock that grounds me and I am beyond thankful to have you by my side. I love you )( much! (/mush)

image

4 thoughts on “birthday man

    • For sure!! He has been such a source of strength and joy throughout all this. I’m also convinced that feeling loved made me get better faster as happier esther = healthier esther! haha

      how is your skin nowadays? did your flare subside from last time you commented?

  1. December people ROCK! We’re the bestest in the land! Happy belated Birthday to your Rhys. :D I love this post–you are so incredible, and I love you to pieces. I keep you in my heart and prayers. *hugs tight* ♥

    Your Ursie x)

    • HAHA you know how you used to send me christmas cards? that was so thoughtful and nice of you!! I’m still hoping I get to visit you one day! are you still in SC?

      Thanks so much for all the love! December people indeed rock!! <3 HUGS FOR DAYS!

Leave a Reply

