TWO AND A HALF YEAR update!

Hello everybody!

I can’t believe it’s been two and a half year since I started this crazy crazy journey. Skin is doing really well, even though I’ve been putting it through some ringers.

Life has been kind of stressful and hectic, but it’s finally settling down! We moved out of Korea (which was pretty crazy and filled with alcohol), did a wedding photo shoot (wore face full of make up all day, and erased it), had to change travel plans last minute, got into a small scooter accident, and passport problems…. It’s been crazy. However I am currently in Australia, and it’s been wonderful. Skin held up through all the stress, back to back snorkeling, really humid and hot weather (heat is my trigger), and living with a cat (I’m allergic :( ). It is still 100% and I am so grateful.

I am taking the *less is more* approach with my skin. I try to apply as little as possible (usually nothing) so I can clean my face with just water. Maybe in next few months I’ll start messing around with new products, but for now, why fix what’s not broken! My skin has endured dry -15c to extremely humid 35c to now chilly and humidish 18c weathers like a champ. I am so happy about that. I am still doing a gluten and lactose free diet. It doesn’t affect my skin (at least not immediately), but my stomach REALLY hates it when I eat them.

It is weird coming back to Australia, this time with a healthy body. It’s much better than I remember it ha. I am able to enjoy so much more of this beautiful country! It has been absolutely wonderful meeting my husband’s family and exploring the area without oozing and bleeding everywhere. I really hope and pray soon you all will be able to live without worrying about your skin.

As usual, here are some photos… Since pics or it didn’t happen. I hope your skin is kind to you today. Stay strong <3

*caution: gratuitous selfies :3*

image
The contrast makes my arm look a lot more discolored than it actually is. Oh well. I’ll take some better colored photos to show my discoloration. They have disappeared a lot, and are still going away, but I do have them.
image

image

image

image

Went from this to 35c HUMID weather in Thailand! It was…. unpleasant. :p
image
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Unlike most, sun, sand and heat is bad for my skin.. but it thrived!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Tanned/burned my skin… eventually peeled.

image

image

image

The marks on the legs aren’t from TSW. It’s mosquito bites. Thai mosquito bites (and Northern Australian ones I later found out) gets REALLY swollen and itchy. Rather unfortunate.

image

image

image
Kuala Lumpur for a day! SO HUMID. Then to chilly Melbourne.
image

image

image

Finally met up with Chi again! SHE IS SO WONDERFUL. pleased tobreporr we are both doing much better than the last meet up!
image

image

image

image
Cairns….. Again back to humid hot weather .

image

image

image

image

image

Snorkeling take two!

image

Australia third time around. Much better than the first time around. Or the second time around. 

image

image

image

image

image

image
image

And I leave you with a cat pic. She’s 18 years old!

I wish you all strength and hope, as always.

11 thoughts on “TWO AND A HALF YEAR update!

  1. I’m the same re gluten and dairy! Not allergic and my skin doesn’t immediately react but it just doesn’t sit well with my stomach! Gluten makes me bloat and I find my energy is so much better without gluten! I wake up earlier and feel more “fresh”.

    Your skin is looking so good in the photos!! Looks like you’ve had some great travels too!! I’m waiting for mine to come round and your snaps have put me in the holiday mood! Re products, I use natural skincare now and it’s been so much better on my skin, if you go back to using products id really recommend!! Balm and oil cleansers are great for my skin too

    • How is you skin doing nowadays Selina? I hope it’s been well! Gluten and dairy definitely affect me, and it hurts my stomach so badly that even if my skin did ok on them, i wouldn’t eat them anyways. I was at korea so I’m familiar with the balm and oil cleansers, but most seem to be too much for my skin… maybe i’ll make them myself!

      • Yes so much cheaper to make yourself too :) I don’t use the standard olive oil as its too heavy on my skin, I use oils which have a better comoedegenic rating as its worked better! And that sounds so similar to me Esther! My skin doesn’t immediately react to dairy or gluten but my stomach really doesn’t agree!! I bloat with gluten and my stomach gurgles like mad sometimes that it’s like woah lol.

        My skin is doing okay at the moment :) summer helps so I’m enjoying the warmer months! How is yours?

      • Currently going through a very mild anniversary flare, but it’s not even as bad as my normal eczema used to get, so it’s pretty good! Not as good as it used to be but i’m not complaining

      • I’m the same ! It’s not as good as pre-eczema but it is way better than full eczema so I try and see the positives!!! Ahh im glad you are doing well! It’s so good to see others on the better side :D xxx

  2. Oh, Essie, you look amazing! I’m just not speaking about your skin, either, I’m talking about YOU! *big tight hugs* I miss you! I still have that 13 yr old Sweetie in my head and have to remember what a beautiful woman you have grown to be! I am so proud of you for the encouragement you give to so many others. And I love that you and your hubby are wonderfully married and happy in the Lord! :D I love this update! Thank you, so much!

    Take care!
    Love you! *more hugs*
    Your Ursie

    • AWW thank you so much! I can’t believe that we have known each othe that long! That’s all credit to you because you’re so amazing at keeping in touch. Mom is telling me one day make sure to visit you. are you still where you were ten years ago??

  3. Beautiful photos Esther! Honestly I couldn’t even tell you had skin issues! So glad you’re out enjoying yourself, and as time passes you’ll be even more comfortable in your skin to where different climates won’t irritate you as much. Cheers to you! 💜
    -Jen

    • I think I am at a stage where different climates do not irritate my skin. However, I do think I am allergic to the sun, seems hereditary. Oh well, I guess sunbrella and I will get very close, and I will have less sun damage aha.

Leave a comment